本系概况

本系介绍

       南方科技大学统计与数据科学系成立于2019年4月,以建设国际一流的教育培养和研究基地为目的。本系志在为国家培养出具有扎实的科学基础,思想活跃,创新意识和能力强,有国际视野,脚踏实地,有朝气、有理想的拔尖人才。本系已经建立起本硕博人才培养体系,拥有统计学和数据科学与大数据技术两个本科专业,及数学学科下概率论和数理统计硕博学位授予权,主要研究领域包括数理统计、生物医学统计、金融统计和数据科学。

       本系现有在读本科生188人(含统计学专业、数据科学与大数据技术专业),在读硕士生37名、博士生34名。随着本系的发展和师资力量的增强,研究生招生数目将逐年上升。

       目前共有16位教研序列教师(含1位即将入职)和4位双聘教师,其中有讲席教授3人,教授4人,副教授5人,助理教授8人。统计系拥有国际化、高水平的师资队伍,包括1名国际数学家大会邀请报告人,2名国家自然科学奖二等奖获得者,1名长江讲座教授,2名国际数理统计学会(IMS)会士,1名IMS常务理事,1名美国统计学会(ASA)会士,1名IMS Medallion讲座演讲者,1名英国皇家统计学会会士、1名英国计算机学会会士,1名广东省特支科技创新青年拔尖人才,1名深圳市杰出人才培养对象,1名深圳市高层次国家级领军人才和2名深圳市优秀教师。

       我系充分利用学校及学院的优势,汇聚优质教学资源。目前已建立起生物医学统计中心和统计咨询中心,未来将会建立金融统计中心、数据科学中心和高性能服务器房,为学生提供了良好的学习环境和科研平台。同时,南科大国际合作部和统计系为本科生及研究生提供高水平、多类型的“国际化教育培养拓展计划”,包括多个国内外知名大学的暑期或学期交换机会,旨在加强学生专业知识学习的基础上拓展学生的社会视野与社会阅历,培育学生多元化思维模式。

About Us

About Us

Established in April 2019, the Department of Statistics and Data Science aims to institute a world-class learning and research center. The department is committed to cultivating top-notch talents’ proactive thoughts, innovative thinking, global vision, as well as their core skills in scientific methodologies. The department now offers two undergraduate programs: major in Statistics, and major in Data Science and Big Data Technology. The department also offers M.Sc. and Ph.D. programs in Probability and Statistics. Key specialized research areas of our faculty members include Mathematical Statistics, Biostatistics, Financial Statistics and Data Science.


From 2019 to 2022, 190 undergraduate students in Statistics received the bachelor’s degree from Southern University of Science and Technology (SUSTech). In addition, 31 M.Phil. and 5 Ph.D. students in Statistics graduated during this period. There are currently 186 undergraduate students, 37 M.Phil. students and 34 Ph.D. students. As the department grows in size and strength, the number of graduate students is expected to rise substantially from the current level.


We currently have 16 (including 1 new members who will join the department soon) full-time and 4 jointly appointed faculty members, comprising 3 Chair Professors, 4 Professors, 5 Associate Professors and 8 Assistant Professors. All faculty members of the department have extensive overseas study or working experiences, including an invited speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians, two winners of the prestigious State Natural Science Award (2nd class), two Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS) Fellows, an IMS Council member, a Fellow of American Statistical Association, an IMS Medallion Lecturer, a Fellow of the Royal Statistics Society, a Fellow of the British Computer Society.


Thanks to the rich and quality resources of SUSTech, we have established the center for biostatistics and the statistic consulting center. The center for financial statistics and the center for data science will also be in place in the future. By working with SUSTech Global, we provide high-quality and multi-type International Education Training and Development Plans for undergraduates and postgraduates, as well as the opportunities to study in overseas universities. We are committed to enhancing student’s social vision and well-rounded thinking.